Daily Archives: February 14, 2017

Steal This Meme: Monster Valentine

monster-sea-of-love-be-my-val-crop

Monstrum in fronte, monstrum in amino.

>>Appropriated art by Sergey Engel.

Poem, Valentine, Be my

Love and Topology

I crease the square
of origami paper
on the diagonal

halve the diamond
to an abstract silhouette of Mt. Fuji
and trim the triangle

scissors cuts paper

down to a breaking wave,
the half profile
of a valentine.

paper covers rock

I fold and fold again
the half hearted paper.
I snip nicks, cut rough chevrons,

slice snowflake geometries
into the folds
leaving the leading edges uncut.

Butterflied confetti
flutters
to the floor.

rock breaks scissors

I unfold the murder, press flat
a whole heart,
a heart full of holes,
a heart cut down to crude lace.

Be my valentine?

Note: I wrote Love and Topology for Mrs. Dr. Omed in February 2004. So far as I can remember, it is the only occasional poem I’ve ever completed in time for the occasion. I duly posted it on the previous incarnation of the Tent Show on Valentine’s Day 2004. Since 13 years ago is equivalent to the early Ordovician Period in Internet time, I feel it’s not too soon to post it again.

Steal This Meme: Werner Herzog Inspires (Valentine)

werner-herzog-volcano-magma-valentine-a

Werner Herzog loves you, and I love you too. Be our Valentine.

I made this meme. Steal it.