Steal this Meme: Werner Herzog Inspires

herzog chicken eyes

I stole this meme from Werner Herzog Inspirationals.

I made this meme myself:

11.294 - chicken eye

In honor of National Poultry Month.

Bonus viddy: The dancing chicken from Herzog’s 1977 film Stroszek:

If you know anything about Werner, you probably know he loathes chickens. However, his crew on Stoszek hated the dancing chicken so much they refused to film it, and he shot the footage himself.

Since the Werner Herzog Inspirationals Tumblr is not posting new memes, I’m creating my own, and as Clay Shirky, author of Here Comes Everybody, puts it, “The stupidest possible creative act is still a creative act.” Words to live by in the latter days of the Internet Age. Steal this meme.
5 responses to “Steal this Meme: Werner Herzog Inspires

  1. and here I sit just now dipping my sourdough toast corner into the soft warm miracle of a perfectly cooked free-range yolk …

  2. Y’know, two soft boiled eggs and toast were what I had for breakfast…synchronicity.

    • perfect

      I was thinking of the pleasure my mother and grandmother derived from the 52 chickens they kept in the back yard of the falling-down house they had in an unincorporated pocket of town unaffected by livestock prohibitions. The once-lush and Eden-like plot was soon barren, with not a single green blade at the margin, and the feed broadcast around the place right up to the back steps attracted roaches the size of your thumb in such quantity even the chickens could make no dent, and the house and outbuildings were overtaken by them, and after Mom and Grandma finally moved to Phoenix and I was left to fix things back up, how roaches would crawl over my neck as I slept and wake me, ugh, and a raccoon got into the little henhouse (erstwhile sauna) one night and bit the heads off half the flock …

  3. Keeping chickens in the city seems to have become a DIY fad. The tenants at our house in Tulsa, recently departed, left a chicken coop in the backyard, but thank my lack-of-god no chickens. I’m content to get the lovely eggs from local farmers at the farmer’s market or the local-products-only green grocer.

  4. My two dogs are tearing up the backyard here in Lville, digging and what all else. I’ll eat the dogs first, then get some chickens.

Leave a Reply

