I am a Camera: Sunday Selfie

proto selfie 1980ish twk

I took this proto-selfie with a 35mm Pentax K1000 single lens reflex camera circa 1982ish. I found this photo and others dating back to the 1980s tucked in a box of postcards a few day ago; I’ve been saving this photo for Selfie Sunday.

The Pentax was a good camera. I’m sorry to say I lost it to a Denver pawn shop circa 1989. The blurriness is due to the photographer; no autofocus. I picked up the camera and snapped the photo on impulse. Shot in available light. Even back then I disliked using the flash. The camera was probably loaded with 400ASA film.

The compelling thing about this self-portrait is I remember taking it; I was in the depths of severe unmedicated depression. This is the face of flat black Grendel, mad, bad, and sad, without chemicals.

Leave a Reply

