Progress is a Fallen Angel dragged backward through Time: A Scissor Dance Retrospective

I’ve been tagged with another would-be viral algorithm on Facebook by my friend and fellow artist Kate Ingold. The algorithm runs thusly: Post three sample images of one’s own art per day for five days, as a sort of retrospective of past, not recent, work. Add some commentary. When I asked for clarification, Kate added, “Can’t wait to see those scissor dances!” So, scissor dances it is, and why not repost to the Tent Show.

A scissor dance is my moniker for collages cut and pasted the old fashioned way, with scissors, glue, and a stack of old magazines. I started making them in 2003, inspired by the collage art of Suzette Haden Elgin*, and by Byzantine religious ikons, particularly of Madonnas, which in my eyes were imagos of the goddess. I started out by making my own ikons. Later I moved on to other themes, but that was the original idea.

The very first Scissor Dance I made I call “The Venus of Lips.”

venusoflips crop

The second I call “The Mothers of Industry and the Buddha of the Future.”

buddha_future

Still with those lips. Fashion magazines contain a plethora of glistening lips.

The third (For today–I’m not absolutely sure of the order in which I made them, except for the first.) is “Punk Isis.”

punk_isis

Looking back at “Venus” and “Isis” and other goddess ikons I made at the time, I realize using images of women from fashion magazine adverts imposed a limitation of type I did not fully intend. Fashion models are too skinny, too airbrushed. But I still like the disembodied lips floating about.

To be continued.

*Suzette Haden Elgin died on January 27. She was a charming, brilliant, and formidable woman. As Mrs. Dr. Omed put it, “She had lovely manners, but did not tolerate fools. I only wish I could be so patient and so strong.” She was one of the few people of whom I could say sincerely that it was a privilege to know.
3 responses to “Progress is a Fallen Angel dragged backward through Time: A Scissor Dance Retrospective

  1. Pingback: Progress is a Fallen Angel dragged backward through Time: Scissor Dance Retrospective (2) | Dr. Omed's Tent Show Revival

  2. Pingback: Progress is a Fallen Angel dragged backward through Time: Scissor Dance Retrospective (3) | Dr. Omed's Tent Show Revival

  3. Pingback: Progress is a Fallen Angel dragged backward through Time: Scissor Dance Retrospective (4) | Dr. Omed's Tent Show Revival

Leave a Reply

