Random Photo: Lion Tooth Clock

dandy head crop luck

A photo a day keeps the Doctor in play.

Wikipedia informs me that the name Dandelion derives from the French dent-de-lion, “lion’s tooth.” I did not know that, and I don’t know why a dandelion would remind a Frenchman of the tooth of a large, meat eating predator, though as a poet that’s damn well something I should know.  I also did not know that a dandelion seed head is called a “clock.”  I think a dandelion clock must keep kairological rather than chronological time; each single parachute on the lion tooth clock has its own rapture and its own apocalypse packed in its cellular luggage.

As I wrote in I am a Camera, and so are You,

I click my iPhone for camera the way a four-pack-a-day smoker (Are there any left?) taps out a cigarette. I’ve salted one hard drive after another with .jpgs and no one but me has seen most of them. I simply enjoy looking at them, and playing with them in a photo-editor. I spend hours on my laptop doing this. As with my poetry and art most of the pleasure for me is in the doing of it; the composition, the editing, the tweaking. Sharing with others is way down there.

I’m trying to share more often. These are tweaks of one photo of one dandelion, an example of what I’ve named digiphotographilia, the obsessive virtual fondling of images. The image above is a relatively slight tweak, and the ones below are the Doctor at play:

dandy head tweek

dandy head twk2 sket

dandy head twk lomo

dandy head twk hdr

dandy head twk hdr2

dandy head twk ort

dandy head twk ort2

dandy head twk ort2 sket

dandy head twk invert

This is the unaltered image I took with my iPhone:

dandy head crop2 no twk

Taraxacum officinale

…also known as, according to panoptic cyborg memory, as blowball, cankerwort, doon-head-clock, witch’s gowan, milk witch, yellow-gowan, Irish daisy, monks-head, priest’s-crown, puff-ball, faceclock, pee-a-bed, wet-a-bed, swine’s snout, white endive, tarasacon, and of course, lion’s tooth. 

5 responses to “Random Photo: Lion Tooth Clock

  1. Ha! We both posted dandelions at the same time!

  2. These are beautiful variations.

  3. Thank you, dappled. Is your dandelion on Facebook?

  4. ISTR that it’s the snaggly, jagged profile of the leaves that gives it the name. Funnily enough, the French call it pissenlit, which corresponds to the good old English pissabed.

  5. I like “doon head clock.” There’s a poem in all these names.

Leave a Reply

