A Prayer for Calm

calm coatlicue

Terror is the piety of revolution.

Tonantzin,
little mother,
Guadalupe,
look,
I clasp my hands together,
make the heart,
the rose in the flesh,
look,
I open my hands, lay open
the book of flesh,
glyphs flowering
on my palms,
look
I lay my hands flat together,
make the knife,
the stone knife of prayer.
Rock,
paper,
scissors,
What is your answer?
Many are the children of la Llorona
who pull on the black hood,
who sheath their faces to become weapons,
all eclipse,
all smoking mirror,
all the razor glitter of obsidian.
Tonantzin,
little mother,
Guadalupe,
look,
I take the loop of string on my fingers.
Here is the cat,
here is the cradle,
here is the hangman’s noose.
Look,
I cup my hands, make the chalice.
And this cup
shall not pass.
Look.
A republican government has virtue as its principle, or else terror.  What do they want who want neither virtue nor terror?  Terror is the piety of revolution.
Louis Antoine Saint-Just
Saint-Just was a disciple of Robespierre during the French Revolution, a member of the Committee of Public Safety. He was called The Apostle of the Terror and The Crimson Angel because he sent so many of his fellow revolutionaries to the guillotine, where he and Robespierre eventually lost their own heads.

 

Leave a Reply

